Ava is officially a toddler now. I think she has skipped being a one-year-old and gone straight to the terrible twos. Either that or she is spoiled rotten. We attempted to make a trip to the library this morning. We being me, Aidan, Ethan, & Ava. That's a 7, 5, and 1-year-old. You wouldn't think it would be so much trouble right? I asked the boys what the "rules of the library" were. "Don't yell, be good." *Sigh* The last time we went to the library the boys got into a chicken tender battle with some other kids. Yeah, I said chicken tender battle. Luckily, we were just about the only ones on the children's floor when we arrived. I let the boys choose their books first. About a minute into them choosing, Ava decides she no longer wants to ride in the stroller. The last time I let her out to walk in the library I ended up chasing her. So I had to decide which was the lesser of two evils: a screaming toddler in the library or a running toddler. I chose running and let her out of her cage. The boys chose their books quickly, and we went to the baby section (which also has the toys) so it's convenient. The boys found the infamous chicken tender, along with all the other pretend food and played while I got some books for Ava. She played in the playhouse nicely.
The boys have been mentioning that they'd like to have fish in a fishtank. We've been discussing it and talking about responsibility etc. So I found a couple of "All about Fish" books. Ava decided she wanted to scream some more because I tried to put her back in the stroller so we could leave. If this has ever happened to you anywhere, let alone in the middle of the library, you know how I felt. So I ended up carrying her until we got to the elevator, then when the elevator doors closed I put her in the stroller and let her scream. The elevator was just enough of a distraction to make her forget about being in the stroller. We managed to check out our books with no further incident. On to Walmart!
Ava continued her quest to make my morning miserable by not wanting to sit in the cart. I have a nice comfy cart cover for her to sit in, one that has a chest buckle to keep her somewhat secure. She stands up any chance she gets. I don't understand it. She has the chance to sit in the cart and ride along, not a care in the world, but she would rather scream and try to stand and slip/fall/break her head open on the cart. So we race through Walmart, trying to get what we need while she is yelling and trying to stand up. People are staring by the time we get to the juice aisle because she is really yelling at that point. I hand her a box of Crunch-N-Munch to quiet her. She chews on the box and we make it to the check-out lane. She sees the check-out and it's like an instant scream button has been activated. So I take her out of the cart and hold her, while I lug our items onto the belt with my other hand. We make it out and get to the car. The carseat has been Ava's nemesis for a while now. I'm not sure why, she just hates being in it. She is still rear-facing (and will be for quite a while) so maybe that is part of it. I wrestle her into the seat and distract her with a tube of lotion. She seems ok, and we make it home without a peep. Usually she will nap on the way home from a morning like that, but not today! She holds out for lunch and two hours afterward. Walking around crying, bumping into things, trying to climb things, crying...you get the picture. Finally she is now asleep on me. So this evening when my husband asks me what we did today, and the boys say "Oh nothing" and I say "We went to the library and Walmart" this is what going to the library and Walmart really means.
No comments:
Post a Comment